MISSION

The mission of the Maryland Area Health Education Center West (AHEC West) is to improve access to and promote quality in health care through education and collaboration.

The AHEC West service area includes Frederick, Washington, Allegany, and Garrett counties in Maryland as well as counties in nearby Pennsylvania and West Virginia. Most of the AHEC West region is designated as a Health Professional Shortage Area.

AHEC West’s activities would not be possible without the support of its many partners and preceptors. AHEC West does not provide health care, but strives to improve health care’s quality and accessibility by working with those who do.

As an agency, AHEC West facilitates and/or provides:
  • Clinical education for health professions students
  • Experiences for students interested in health careers such as summer programs for high school students, mentorship, and academic assistance with follow-up through college, health professions school, and beyond
  • Continuing education programs for regional health professionals
  • Geriatric interprofessional experiences for students and continuing education for geriatric providers and caregivers
  • Organization of and participation in coalitions and task forces on priority concerns about health care

STAFFStaff Directory

Susan Stewart : Executive Director

Susan Stewart

Executive Director

301-777-9150 ext 147
susan.stewart@ahecwest.org
Melissa Clark : Associate Director

Melissa Clark

Associate Director

301-777-9150 ext 115
mclark@ahecwest.org
Tina Rohrbaugh : Finance Director

Tina Rohrbaugh

Finance Director

301-777-9150, ext 140
trohrbaugh@ahecwest.org
Emma Bauer : ECHO Program Assistant

Emma Bauer

ECHO Program Assistant

301-777-9150 ext 111
ebauer@ahecwest.org
Jackie Booth : Administrative Specialist

Jackie Booth

Administrative Specialist

301-777-9150, ext 101
jbooth@ahecwest.org
Mindy Bradshaw : Community Health Worker, Mountain Health Alliance

Mindy Bradshaw

Community Health Worker, Mountain Health Alliance

301-777-9150, ext 106
mdodrill@ahecwest.org
Catie Brenneman : Program Coordinator, Mountain Health Alliance

Catie Brenneman

Program Coordinator, Mountain Health Alliance

301-777-9150 ext 148
cbrenneman@ahecwest.org
Jan Chippendale : Health Right Case Manager

Jan Chippendale

Health Right Case Manager

301-777-9150 ext. 112
jchippendale@ahecwest.org
Nefertiti Guillaume : AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Program Coordinator

Nefertiti Guillaume

AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Program Coordinator

1-888-202-0212
nefertiti@wmdhealthconnect.org
Amanda Heavener : Administrative and HR Specialist

Amanda Heavener

Administrative and HR Specialist

301-777-9150, ext 100
aheavener@ahecwest.org
Heather Iser : Community Health Worker, Mountain Health Alliance

Heather Iser

Community Health Worker, Mountain Health Alliance

301-777-9150 ext 120
hiser@ahecwest.org
Jade Kenney : Community Health Worker, Mountain Health Alliance

Jade Kenney

Community Health Worker, Mountain Health Alliance

301-777-9150 ext 113
jkenney@ahecwest.org
Richard Kerns : Grants Manager & Social Media Coordinator

Richard Kerns

Grants Manager & Social Media Coordinator

301-777-9150, ext 104
rkerns@ahecwest.org
Clark Lanthier : AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Navigator

Clark Lanthier

AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Navigator

1-888-202-0212
clark@wmdhealthconnect.org
Carol Morgan : AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Navigator

Carol Morgan

AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Navigator

1-888-202-0212
carol@wmdhealthconnect.org
Terri Socha : Program Coordinator, Clin Ed, GAIT, and AHEC Scholars

Terri Socha

Program Coordinator, Clin Ed, GAIT, and AHEC Scholars

301-777-9150, ext 107
tsocha@ahecwest.org
David Stewart : AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Program Director

David Stewart

AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Program Director

1-888-202-0212
david@wmdhealthconnect.org
Joy Taylor : Program Coordinator, Continuing Education, HPV Education, GGEAR

Joy Taylor

Program Coordinator, Continuing Education, HPV Education, GGEAR

301-777-9150, ext 141
jtaylor@ahecwest.org
Julie Teter : Regional Oral Health Coordinator

Julie Teter

Regional Oral Health Coordinator

301-777-9150 ext 103
jteter@ahecwest.org
Jen Thomas : Program Coordinator, STEP

Jen Thomas

Program Coordinator, STEP

301-777-9150, ext 109
jthomas@ahecwest.org
Allyson Wallace : AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Navigator

Allyson Wallace

AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Navigator

1-888-202-0212
allyson@wmdhealthconnect.org
Brady Watson : AHEC West Health Insurance Program - Navigator/Operations Assistant and ECHO Program Assistant

Brady Watson

AHEC West Health Insurance Program - Navigator/Operations Assistant and ECHO Program Assistant

1-888-202-0212 - ECHO: 301-777-9150 ext 205
brady@wmdhealthconnect.org, bwatson@ahecwest.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

  • Beth Smolko – Chairperson
  • Joe Hoffman – Vice Chairperson
  • Margaret Wright – Secretary
  • Griffin Detrick – Treasurer
  • Stephen Bortz, Garrett Regional Medical Center
  • Cindy Bridges, RN, MS, MBA, Western Maryland Health System
  • Thomas Chappell, MD, retired
  • Richard Colgan, MD, University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • Kathy Condor, BA, Allegany College of Maryland
  • Griffin Detrick, CPA, Archway Station
  • Maria Friend, BSN, Garrett County Health Department
  • Jennifer Glotfelty, LMSW, Thomas B. Finan Center
  • Y. Michelle Harman, MEd, NBCT, Garrett County Board of Education
  • Joe Hoffman, PhD, Frostburg State University
  • Rod MacRae, MA, MPH, Washington County Health Department
  • Diane Romaine, DMD, Diane D. Romaine and Associates
  • Sara Seitz, MPH, State Office of Rural Health
  • Beth Smolko, MMS, PA-C, Frostburg State University
  • Margaret Wright, RN, BSN, Allegany County Health Department

SERVICE AREA

AHEC West serves Garrett, Allegany, Washington, and Frederick counties in Maryland, with some programs serving clients in nearby Mineral County, West Virginia and Bedford County, Pennsylvania.

Included in the service area are three federally qualified health centers, four dental clinics, and six hospitals, all of which work with AHEC West to meet the healthcare needs of the area’s overall population. Most of the counties served qualify as Medically Underserved Areas and are greatly challenged in the recruitment and retention of healthcare professionals. In more recent years, we’ve begun to serve other counties west of Baltimore.

ANNUAL REPORT

Past Annual Reports

2019

2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008

2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988
1987
1986
1985
1984
1981
1980
1979

CIVIL RIGHTSWE DO NOT DISCRIMINATE

Nondiscrimination and Accessibility Requirements Notice

AHEC West and its Western Maryland Health Insurance Connector program complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. AHEC West does not exclude people or treat them differently, because of race, color, national origin, age, disability or sex.

AHEC West:
●        Provides free auxiliary aids and services to people with disabilities to communicate effectively with us, such as qualified sign language interpreters and written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible electronic formats, other formats)
●        Provides free language assistance services to people whose primary language is not English, such as qualified interpreters and information written in other languages

If you need these services, contact David Stewart at 301-501-5057

If you believe AHEC West has failed to provide these services or discriminated in another way on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability or sex, you can file a grievance in writing by mail or email with Melissa Clark, Civil Rights Coordinator. If you need help filing a grievance, Ms. Clark is available to help you.  Ms. Clark’s contact info is below:

Melissa Clark, Civil Rights Coordinator
Phone: 301-777-9150 x115
Fax: 301-777-2649
Email: civilrights@ahecwest.org
Mail: 39 Baltimore Street, Suite 201, Cumberland, Maryland 21502

You also may file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil Rights electronically through the Office for Civil Rights Complaint Portal, available at https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf,or by mail or phone at: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue SW., Room 509F, HHH Building, Washington, DC 20201; 1-800-868-1019800-537-7697 (TDD). Complaint forms are available at  http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html.