MISSION

The mission of the Maryland Area Health Education Center West (AHEC West) is to improve access to and promote quality in health care through education and collaboration.

The AHEC West service area includes Frederick, Washington, Allegany, and Garrett counties in Maryland as well as counties in nearby Pennsylvania and West Virginia. Most of the AHEC West region is designated as a Health Professional Shortage Area.

AHEC West’s activities would not be possible without the support of its many partners and preceptors. AHEC West does not provide health care, but strives to improve health care’s quality and accessibility by working with those who do.

As an agency, AHEC West facilitates and/or provides:
  • Clinical education for health professions students
  • Experiences for students interested in health careers such as summer programs for high school students, mentorship, and academic assistance with follow-up through college, health professions school, and beyond
  • Continuing education programs for regional health professionals
  • Geriatric interprofessional experiences for students and continuing education for geriatric providers and caregivers
  • Organization of and participation in coalitions and task forces on priority concerns about health care

STAFFStaff Directory

Susan Stewart : Executive Director

Susan Stewart

Executive Director

301-777-9150 ext 147
susan.stewart@ahecwest.org
Melissa Clark : Associate Director

Melissa Clark

Associate Director

301-777-9150 ext 115
mclark@ahecwest.org
Tina Rohrbaugh : Finance Director

Tina Rohrbaugh

Finance Director

301-777-9150, ext 140
trohrbaugh@ahecwest.org
Lora Boe : Peer Recovery Specialist

Lora Boe

Peer Recovery Specialist

301-876-5125
lboe@ahecwest.org
Jackie Booth : Administrative Specialist

Jackie Booth

Administrative Specialist

301-777-9150, ext 101
jbooth@ahecwest.org
Catie Brenneman : Program Coordinator - Clinical Education

Catie Brenneman

Program Coordinator - Clinical Education

301-777-9150 ext 148
cbrenneman@ahecwest.org
Cody Broadwater : Peer Recovery Specialist

Cody Broadwater

Peer Recovery Specialist

301-777-9150 ext 105
cbroadwater@ahecwest.org
Daniel Carrillo : AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Program Coordinator

Daniel Carrillo

AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Program Coordinator

1-888-202-0212
daniel@wmdhealthconnect.org
Ella Ciprian : Community Health Specialist

Ella Ciprian

Community Health Specialist

301-777-9150 ext. 203
jciprian@ahecwest.org
Shalynn Cline : Program Coordinator - ACCESS

Shalynn Cline

Program Coordinator - ACCESS

301-777-9150 ext 109
scline@ahecwest.org
Michael Francis : Communication Manager

Michael Francis

Communication Manager

301-777-9150 ext 205
michaelf@wmdhealthconnect.org
Matthew Gum : AHEC West Health Insurance Program - Navigator

Matthew Gum

AHEC West Health Insurance Program - Navigator

301-777-9150 ext 212
matthewg@wmdhealthconnect.org
Jeff Hay : Peer Recovery Specialist

Jeff Hay

Peer Recovery Specialist

301-268-9651
jhay@ahecwest.org
Amanda Heavener : Human Resources Specialist

Amanda Heavener

Human Resources Specialist

301-777-9150, ext 111
aheavener@ahecwest.org
Abby Justice : Community Health Specialist

Abby Justice

Community Health Specialist

301-777-9150 ext 110
ajustice@ahecwest.org
Autymn Kifer : Peer Recovery Specialist

Autymn Kifer

Peer Recovery Specialist

301-777-9150 ext. 106
akifer@ahecwest.org
David Laurencio : AHEC West Health Insurance Program - Operations Manager

David Laurencio

AHEC West Health Insurance Program - Operations Manager

1-888-202-0212
dlaurencio@ahecwest.org
Lisa Lundquist : AHEC West Health Insurance - Outreach Coordinator

Lisa Lundquist

AHEC West Health Insurance - Outreach Coordinator

301-268-6475
llundquist@ahecwest.org
Christina Mackereth : Possibility Shop Manager

Christina Mackereth

Possibility Shop Manager

301-777-9150, ext 211
cmackereth@ahecwest.org
Carol Morgan : AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Navigator

Carol Morgan

AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Navigator

1-888-202-0212
carol@wmdhealthconnect.org
Jim Murray : Program Coordinator - OOCC Peer Connect

Jim Murray

Program Coordinator - OOCC Peer Connect

301-777-9150 ext 120
jmurray@ahecwest.org
Steve Parsons : Community Health Specialist

Steve Parsons

Community Health Specialist

301-777-9150 ext. 206
sparsons@ahecwest.org
Rachel Rumph : Community Health Specialist

Rachel Rumph

Community Health Specialist

301-777-9150 ext 213
rrumph@ahecwest.org
Mijail Salazar : AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Bilingual Navigator

Mijail Salazar

AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Bilingual Navigator

1-888-202-0212
mijail@wmdhealthconnect.org
Rachel Sloane : Peer Recovery Specialist

Rachel Sloane

Peer Recovery Specialist

301-777-9150 ext 104
rsloane@ahecwest.org
David Stewart : AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Program Director

David Stewart

AHEC West Health Insurance Program – Program Director

1-888-202-0212
david@wmdhealthconnect.org
Joy Taylor : Program Director - AHEC Scholars, Continuing Ed., GGEAR

Joy Taylor

Program Director - AHEC Scholars, Continuing Ed., GGEAR

301-777-9150, ext 141
jtaylor@ahecwest.org
Julie Teter : Regional Oral Health Coordinator/ECHO Program Coordinator

Julie Teter

Regional Oral Health Coordinator/ECHO Program Coordinator

301-777-9150 ext 103
jteter@ahecwest.org
Sarah Unkefer : Administrative Specialist

Sarah Unkefer

Administrative Specialist

301-777-9150 ext. 100
sunkefer@ahecwest.org
Lindsay Wood : Grant Writer/PR Coordinator

Lindsay Wood

Grant Writer/PR Coordinator

301-268-2453
lwood@ahecwest.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

  • Joe Hoffman – Chairperson
  • VACANT – Vice Chairperson
  • Margaret Wright – Secretary
  • Griffin Detrick – Treasurer
  • Richard Colgan, MD, University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • Kathy Condor, BA, Allegany College of Maryland
  • Griffin Detrick, CPA, Archway Station
  • Heather Hall, PA-C, Frostburg State University
  • Y. Michelle Harman, MEd, NBCT, Garrett County Board of Education
  • Joe Hoffman, PhD, Frostburg State University
  • Stephanie Hutter-Thomas, PhD, CPH, CCHW, RPS, WVU School of Medicine, Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry
  • Diane Martin, PhD, MA,  BA, University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Chris Mullett, Garrett County Community Action Committee
  • Sara Seitz, MPH, State Office of Rural Health
  • Danielle Stahl, BS, Washington County Health Department
  • Margaret Wright, RN, BSN, Allegany County Health Department

SERVICE AREA

AHEC West serves Garrett, Allegany, Washington, and Frederick counties in Maryland, with some programs serving clients in nearby Mineral County, West Virginia and Bedford County, Pennsylvania.

Included in the service area are three federally qualified health centers, four dental clinics, and six hospitals, all of which work with AHEC West to meet the healthcare needs of the area’s overall population. Most of the counties served qualify as Medically Underserved Areas and are greatly challenged in the recruitment and retention of healthcare professionals. In more recent years, we’ve begun to serve other counties west of Baltimore.

ANNUAL REPORT

Past Annual Reports

2023

2022

2021

2020

2019

2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008

2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988
1987
1986
1985
1984
1981
1980
1979

CIVIL RIGHTSWE DO NOT DISCRIMINATE

Nondiscrimination and Accessibility Requirements Notice

AHEC West and its Western Maryland Health Insurance Connector program complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. AHEC West does not exclude people or treat them differently, because of race, color, national origin, age, disability or sex.

AHEC West:
●        Provides free auxiliary aids and services to people with disabilities to communicate effectively with us, such as qualified sign language interpreters and written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible electronic formats, other formats)
●        Provides free language assistance services to people whose primary language is not English, such as qualified interpreters and information written in other languages

If you need these services, contact us: 301-777-9150

If you believe AHEC West has failed to provide these services or discriminated in another way on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability or sex, you can file a grievance in writing by mail or email with Melissa Clark, Civil Rights Coordinator. If you need help filing a grievance, Ms. Clark is available to help you.  Ms. Clark’s contact info is below:

Melissa Clark, Civil Rights Coordinator
Phone: 301-777-9150 x115
Fax: 301-777-2649
Email: civilrights@ahecwest.org
Mail: 39 Baltimore Street, Suite 201, Cumberland, Maryland 21502

You also may file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil Rights electronically through the Office for Civil Rights Complaint Portal, available at https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf,or by mail or phone at: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue SW., Room 509F, HHH Building, Washington, DC 20201; 1-800-868-1019800-537-7697 (TDD). Complaint forms are available at  http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html.