Annual Awards

AHEC West 2018 Award Winners


Joe Hoffman of Frostburg State University presents the AHEC West Distinguished Service Award to Jennifer Glotfelty.

Carol Bass of the Garrett County Health Department, left, presents the Jane A. Fiscus Award to Dr. Gretchen Seibert of the Allegany County Dental Clinic.

Kathy Condor of Allegany College of Maryland presents the John M. Dennis Award to Dr. Ronald Nowaczyk, president of Frostburg State University.

Reba Cornman, director of the Geriatrics and Gerontology Education and Research program at the University of Maryland, left, presents the AHEC West Geriatrics and Gerontology Award to Cynthia McCutcheon of Frostburg Heights.


AHEC West held its Annual Awards Dinner June 19, 2018 at Western Maryland Health System, presenting four Board of Directors Awards honoring outstanding regional leaders in healthcare. Awards and honorees were: The Distinguished Service Award: Jennifer Glotfelty, LGSW, in recognition of her years of commitment to AHEC West and its mission, her leadership on the Board of Directors, as well as her dedication to health professions education and quality healthcare in the Western Maryland region; The Jane A. Fiscus Award, to Dr. Gretchen Seibert and the Allegany County Dental Clinic, for her and the clinic’s remarkable contributions to public health dentistry in Allegany County; The John M. Dennis Award, to Frostburg State University, in recognition of 40 years of partnership that has contributed significantly to the success of AHEC West; and The Award for Excellence in Geriatrics and Gerontology, to Frostburg Heights for collaboration on health education programs and other services aiding older adults in Maryland.

To view more photos from the Annual Dinner and Awards Ceremony,
click on “Galleries” on our home page.

AHEC West Awards Criteria

John M. Dennis Award
This award is presented in honor of John M. Dennis, MD, Vice Chancellor for Health and Academic Affairs at the University of Maryland at Baltimore from 1977 until 1988 whose visionary and dedicated support made possible the development of the AHEC West program and this Center. Recipients of this award are usually university representatives who have made noteworthy contributions to off-campus health professional education in Western Maryland through outstanding leadership, ingenuity and advocacy, and dedication.
 Initiated in 1988, the John M. Dennis Award replaced a previous award honoring outstanding UMB off-campus leadership.


Award for Distinguished Service

An award presented to individuals who have contributed outstanding, dedicated service to the organization and to interdisciplinary education for health professionals in Western Maryland.

Jane A. Fiscus AwardThis award recognizes the significant contributions to community health care made by health care providers and/or citizens in Western Maryland who exemplify the principles of leadership, coordination of services, interdisciplinary training, foresight, courage, and creativity championed and demonstrated by Jane A. Fiscus, M.D.

The Award for Excellence in Geriatrics and Gerontology
This award recognizes an individual, organization, or community group that demonstrates leadership, commitment, and innovation in educational programs, research, or collaborative activities that contribute to high quality, sustainable, culturally compettent services to enchance the health and quality of life of older adults in Western Maryland.

Donald L. Spencer Award
The Donald L. Spencer Award is given periodically to exceptional individuals who embody a rare degree of organizational dedication and commitment to the values and ideals that Don Spencer represented.